Labour Courts

As a result of promulgation of Punjab Industrial Relations Act, 2010 (PIRA-2010), Labour Court was established in the Province of Punjab. For this purpose, 11 Labour Courts have been established in the Province keeping in view the number of Industrial Workers. The Labour Courts which are working in Punjab are two at Lahore and one each at Ferozewala. (Sheikhupura), Faisalabad, Sargodha, Rawalpindi, Gujranwala, Bahawalpur, Multan, Sahiwal and D.G.Khan. There are two Appellate Authority over these Labour Courts called Punjab Labour Appellate Tribunal, which is working at Lahore and Multan. The Appellate Tribunal, keeping in view the exigency of work, undertakes the tours of various Divisions.

The District and Sessions Judges and Additional district and Sessions Judges whose services are borrowed from the High Court are appointed as Presiding Officers of these Courts. The individual workers, collective bargaining agents and the employers can invoke the jurisdiction of these courts for the redressed of their grievances. These Courts adjudicate upon the PIRA-2010.