Chief Minister Punjab Announces Financial Aid for Flood Affectees


Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhry Parvez Elahi has announced financial assistance to help repair the damages caused by the flood to the houses in south Punjab and said that the owners of completely destroyed houses will be given six lakh rupees per person while the owners of partially destroyed houses will be provided four lakh rupees per person. Similarly, the damage caused to the livestock will also be compensated; he added and directed the deputy commissioners to complete the surveys under personal supervision. The survey process should be kept simple and the local representatives be taken on board; he emphasised and repeated that the affectees should not suffer any kind of inconvenience during the survey process. The financial assistance should reach the affected people without delay, he further said. The CM directed that the relief activities should be intensified and dry food should be continuously delivered to the affected population. Alongside, water flow in rivers should be continuously monitored while taking steps to fortify the rivers' embankments; he mentioned and reminded that the necessary resources and machinery should be used for the maintenance of link roads in the affected areas. I will visit flood-hit areas of Rajanpur and DG Khan today (Tuesday) to personally review the situation as rehabilitation of flood affectees is a priority, said Parvez Elahi. A meeting was held on Monday under the chair of the CM at his office to review the flood situation and relief activities in Rajanpur, DG Khan, especially Taunsa and Muzaffargarh. Assembly members Amina Jafar Leghari, Mohsin Leghari, Muhammad Saifuddin Khan Khosa, Muhammad Awais Dareshak, Farooq Amanullah Dareshak, Sardar Ahmad Ali Khan Dareshak, Muhammad Mohiuddin Khan Khosa, Abdul Hai Dasti, Javed Akhtar, Kh. Muhammad Daud Solemani. Muhammad Ashraf Khan Rind, Niaz Hussain Khan, Mian Alamdar Abbas Qureshi, Muhammad Aun Hameed, Muhammad Raza Hussain Bukhari, Muhammad Moazzam Ali Khan, Nawabzada Mansoor Ahmad Khan, Chief Secretary Kamran Afzal, former P&D chairman Salman Ghani, former principal secretary to CM GM Sikandar, secretaries and senior officials attended the meeting. SMBR, divisional commissioners, DG PDMA and deputy commissioners of Muzaffargarh, Rajanpur and DG Khan participated through video link.