The total area of the district is of 58.56 square kilometer. It lies between longitude 73o and 74o East, latitude 30o and 31.5o North, at an elevation of 605 feet above sea level. There is no natural boundary between Faisalabad and the adjoining districts. River Chenab flows about 30 km in the North West while River Ravi meanders about 40 km off the city in the South East. Lower Chenab canal is the main source of irrigation water, which meets the requirements of 80% of cultivated land. The soil of Faisalabad is generally fertile.

City District Faisalabad consists of eight Towns, which are as follows:

  • Lyallpur Town
  • Madina Town
  • Jinnah Town
  • Iqbal Town
  • Samundri Town
  • Tandianwala Town
  • Jaranwala Town
  • Chak Jhumra Town

Motorway is linked to city through M - 3 section & the meeting junction is "Pindi Bhatiyaan".