Highways Department

Punjab Highways Department is responsible for construction and maintenance of all the provincial roads network.The Punjab inherited 4305 kms of metalled roads at the time of independence in 1947. The pace of progress remained comparatively slow uptill 1980, and the average annual increase in road network was about 5%. When the 'Form to Market' program was launched, the road kilometerage registered an increase of about 13% annually. At present, the Punjab Highways Department is maintaining a network of over 38,000 KMs of roads.

Keeping in view the changing economic condition, the department has planned to take up some highly trafficked road lengths on BOT basis.The department has in-house capabilities of testing of materials, design of pavements, geometric design of roads & bridge design.

The territorial jurisdiction of Chief Engineer, North, Highways Department extends over the Civil Division of Lahore, Gujranwala, Sargodha and Rawalpindi and that of Chief Engineer, South Zone is Civil Division of Faisalabad, Multan, Bahawalpur and D. G. Khan.

Administratively, the Punjab Highways Department is divided in two zones, each headed by a Chief Engineer:

  • South Zone
  • North Zone


  • Execution of development schemes through field formation as per approved Annual Development Programme (ADP)
  • Annual repair/ maintenance of roads through its field formations
  • To exercise full control over the budget placed at their disposal for incurring expenditures as per provision of funds

Road Research & Material Testing Institute