District Bahawalpur spreads over an area of 24,830 square kilometres, comprising the five tehsils of:

  • Bahawalpur
  • Hasilpur
  • Khairpur Tamewali
  • Ahmadpur East
  • Yazman

Bahawalnagar and Rahim Yar Khan districts form its boundaries in the East and West respectively, while Lodhran and Vehari districts are situated in the North across the river Sutlej, which flows from North-East to North-West. On the South and South-East the district forms the international Border with India.

Climate and Soil Conditions

District Bahawalpur has very hot and dry climate in summer and dry and cold climate in winter. The maximum temperature rises to 48ºC while the minimum temperature falls to 7ºC. Wind and dust storms are frequent during the summer. The average annual rain-fall in the district is 200 mm.

The district may be divided into three parts, i.e., the riverain area, the irrigated area and the desert area. The riverain area lies close to the river Sutlej, which flows in the North along its boundary with Lodhran and Vehari districts. The area is inundated during floods. The irrigated tract is higher than the riverain area. Most of the land has been brought under cultivation. The desert area is known as Cholistan. It extends along the entire Eastern boundary of Bahawalnagar district in the North and Rahim Yar Khan district in the South. The surface of the desert consists of a succession of sand dunes rising in places to a height of 150 metres.

Other salient features of Bahawalpur are as below:​